The Life and Work of Alban Berg from the collection of Christina Boughen

Reich, Willi; Berg, Alban


Publisher: Thames & Hudson
Place Published: London
Edition: 1st UK Edition
Date Published: 1965
Illustrator: b&w plates
Size: 8vo

Biography/study of Alban Berg’s life and music, written by a friend and former student of the composer; part one biographical, referencing Berg’s own sayings, letters and statements; part two an in-depth analysis of Berg’s music, with sections on Early Works, Three Orchestral Pieces (Opus 6), Wozzeck, Chamber Concerto for Piano and Violin with Thirteen Wind Instruments, Lyric Suite for String Quartet, Lulu, and more; part 3 presents three articles by Berg, one on the difficulties presented by Schonberg’s music; translated by Cornelius Cardew; b&w plate illustrations, musical examples in text; stamped “From the collection of Christina Boughen OAM” to front endpaper – Boughen was a prominent Australian musician and musical educator; mild foxing to endpapers and prelims, o.w. Very Good throughout; mild lifting of original celoglaze of dustwrapper at spine, o.w. Very Good.

ID: 23704 Category: